William Stubblefield and Graeme Batley, Global Awards Committee Chairs; and Rebecca Bundschuh, SETAC Europe Education Project Manager

Each year, the SETAC awards program recognizes individuals, or groups of individuals, who have made outstanding contributions consistent with the goals of SETAC.

SETAC Founders Award

Photo of Harold Bergman

Harold Bergman

The Founders Award is the highest honor given by SETAC. This year’s recipient was Harold Bergman, Emeritus Professor at the University of Wyoming. Bergman was recognized for his expertise as a fish physiologist, environmental toxicologist and risk assessor, and for his extensive publication record. He has served on numerous state, national and international advisory and review panels. Bergman played a lead role in the creation and development of SETAC. As a charter member of SETAC, he was instrumental in establishing the goals and underpinning principles of the society. He has a long record of SETAC service, including as a member of the first board of directors (1982–1986) and as one of the first presidents of the society (1984–1985). His contributions to SETAC committees and as chair on multiple SETAC Pellston Workshops® have helped to advance scientific initiatives dealing with risk assessment, bioavailability, biomarkers and metals criteria.

Nominations for the 2019 SETAC Founders Award are due by 8 February.

SETAC Fellows Award

SETAC Fellows are long-time members who have made significant contributions to environmental science as well as to SETAC. In 2018, the following members received the award:

Mónica Amorim Elaine Dorward-King Joseph Meyer Donald Tillitt
Sabine Apitz Robert Hoke Ellen Mihaich Eddy Zeng
Alistair Boxall Henner Hollert Miguel Mora
Bryan Brooks Ruth Hull Mary Reiley
Richard Di Giulio Karen Kidd Mark Servos

We congratulate the new SETAC Fellows and look forward to their continuing support and advice as leaders of our society. Nominations for the next class of SETAC Fellows are due by 1 March 2019.

Herb Ward Exceptional Service Award

Photo of Ruth Hull

Ruth Hull

To honor Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry founding Editor-in-Chief C.H. (Herb) Ward, the Herb Ward Exceptional Service Award recognizes SETAC members who have performed long-term, exceptionally high-quality service to SETAC.

This year´s recipient, Ruth Hull of Gary D. William & Associates, is just such an outstanding person and now joins the group of more than 25 past Herb Ward Exceptional Service Award winners.

Hull first became active with SETAC committees and governance in 2003. Since then, she has been heavily involved at every level of the inner workings of SETAC – whether within her local chapter, the Laurentian SETAC Chapter, the SETAC Board of Directors, through her outstanding work on numerous committees, or through her contribution to the organization of workshops and annual meetings. Hull is known for her enthusiasm for SETAC and dedication to serving others and lending her voice to under-represented groups. Currently, Hull is chair of the SETAC North America Endowment Fund Board of Trustees and encouraged the creation of the Early Career Travel Award to the annual meeting.

Nominations for the Herb Award Exceptional Service Award are due by 1 June 2019.

SETAC Global Partners Capacity-Building Award

The Capacity-Building Award was created in 2008 to recognize individuals or groups for their contribution toward building capacity in the environmental sciences within countries with developing economies.

Helena Silva de Assis at the Federal University of Paraná, Tatiana Heid Furley at APLYSIA Environmental Research and Solutions, Fabiana Lo Nostro at University of Buenos Aires & CONICET, and Karina Miglioranza, University of Mar Del Plata, were honored with the SETAC Global Partners Capacity-Building Award. This group of outstanding scientists provided exceptional leadership in environmental science and service within SETAC Latin America. In a region with numerous capacity challenges, their important contribution and efforts were essential for the success of the Global Horizon Scanning Project in Brazil and set an example by reaching out to federal and local funding agencies. They are working now to bring the initiative to other countries.

Their leadership over the last several years has brought SETAC Latin America to the forefront of SETAC’s success in its mission to bring resources, research and expertise to advance environmental toxicology and chemistry and improve environmental awareness around the world.

Assis and Furley have been leaders in Brazil and played an important role in integrating the EcoTox Brazil with SETAC Latin America, two organizations with clear institutional and technical overlap. They have also been instrumental in advancing the Global Horizon Scanning Program and have successfully moved this before the policy makers and funders within Brazil.

Lo Nostro and Miglioranza have been leaders in Argentina and facilitated the connection between science, SETAC and the international arena. SETAC Argentina was established through their efforts.

All four recipients served as important mentors to the SETAC Latin America membership, promoted and implemented SETAC’s mission, and made it possible for students and young scientists within Latin America to gain access to an international community.

Nominations for the Global Partner Capacity-Building Award are due by 1 August 2019.

SETAC/ICA Chris Lee Award for Metals Research

Photo of Raissa Mendonca

Raissa Mendonca

The SETAC/ICA Chris Lee Award, sponsored by the International Copper Association and initiated by the Society to recognize the leadership and technical contributions by the late Chris Lee, provides up to $5,000 to a graduate student or recent graduate who has focused on research related to the fate and/or effects of metals in the environment.

Raissa Mendonca of Kent State University was the 2018 winner. Mendonca is still early in her career, but her past and planned research is highly relevant and will contribute to our knowledge and understanding of the fate and effects of metals in the environment. We look forward to her research contributions.

The deadline to apply for the SETAC/ICA Chris Lee Award for Metals Research is 1 June 2019.

SETAC Best Student Paper Award

Photo of Erin Maloney

Erin Maloney

The SETAC journals offer an annual award, sponsored by Colgate-Palmolive, for the best student paper published in the previous year. This year’s winner was Erin Maloney from the University of Saskatchewan for her paper “Cumulative toxicity of neonicotinoid insecticide mixtures to Chironomus dilutus under acute exposure scenarios.”

Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (ET&C) and Integrated Environmental Assessment and Management (IEAM) each bestow a best paper award annually. The 2018 winners were Douglas Sponsler and Wayne Landis, as announced at the SETAC Europe 29th Annual Meeting in Rome, Italy, and presented in this Globe article from June 2018.

Our warmest congratulations to all award winners and thank you for your outstanding contributions to SETAC’s scientific community!

Authors’ contact information: Bill.Stubblefield@oregonstate.edu, graeme.batley@csiro.au and rebecca.bundschuh@setac.org

View job opportunities in the SETAC Career Center
Registration opens on 15 July for SETAC Fort Worth
Nontarget 2021 save the date